Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from December, 2016

Yet Another Address Autocomplete PCF Control–powered by Bing

Turn off CRM Outlook Syncronization

The Outlook CRM add-in includes the diagnostics tool. This allows various configuration options.
For some cases it might be useful to deactivate the Outlook Synchronization.Usually, this tool is installed in this path:C:\Program Files\Microsoft Dynamics CRM\Client\res\web\binyou can open the tool from command line if you want:Microsoft.Crm.Outlook.Diagnostics.exeIf you want to configure multiple machines or use policies to deactivate synchronziation you can also
use a registry key for that:The key you want to look for is “RunOutlookScheduledSync” or “RunOfflineScheduledSync” if you use offline functionality.Setting to 0 (zero) disables it. Setting to 1 enables this feature.Remark:
Replace ORG_ID with your actual organization id.Create Windows Registry deactivate.reg file for deactivation of sync:Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\MSCRMClient\{ORG_ID}]
"RunOutlookScheduledSync"=dword:00000000
"RunOfflineScheduledSync&quo…

CRM Portals – Customer Self-Service – Invitation flaw

I recently had the situation that with Dynamics 365 Online Portals not all parts are self-explaining, especially the first setup.
The customer required to have multiple CRM users from multiple business units.
Out-of-the-box behavior is that only the system administrator is able to create invitations in general.
But what if you want to enable mulitple users to fulfill this task?I recognized that users with the system administrator role still were not able to generate the invitation code that is triggered by the worklfow below.The reason is that by default this workflow’s scope is set to “User” level. Instead it must be on “Organization” to make it fire for all portal inviters.Next step was to create a new role “Portal Inviter” which only has the permissions for the “Invitation” entity completely enabled:
(whole Organization-wide with exception to the delete permission, which should be on “User”-level)So this gave me the freedom to enable certain users from different busin…